Volunteer Spotlight! Meet Vicki Beale!

Vicki helps Pudge and his Barn Pals!

Hi Friends!

It is a great honor to introduce you to our June 2013 Volunteer of the month, Vicki Beale! She is a most wonderful young woman who is so caring and devoted to us and her work here at Mt Hope. Mom is perfectly smitten with her as am I! I luv to see Vicki come to the barn for her “me” time. She has a warm, welcoming smile and when we see her we know we are going to be in for a marvelous time!

Recently we chatted while at the barn during one of her visits and I asked her to tell me a little bit about herself to share with you. As you will soon learn she is a very busy but also recognizes the importance of taking time to do the things in life that matter. She is an avid learner and very loyal to her family. I think that she has many admirable qualities that will serve her well in life.

Pudge: Vicki! How nice to see you! Can you please share some thoughts about yourself, what you value and what brought you to our rescue?

Vicki:
“I came to MHHR in late July 2012. I’ve always been a horse lover and took lessons and participated in 4H horse programs as a teen. I even competed in some shows as a young teenager and earned several ribbons, but was never able to have a horse of my own. In my mid to late teens I drifted away from 4H and horses due to various life circumstances. For many years I was unable to give time towards my passion of horses due to getting my education finished, my career started and then being a wife and mother. My career is set and my children are now getting older (15, 13, and 9) and I’ve decided it’s time to do something for myself again and I naturally drifted back to horses. An acquaintance mentioned MHHR to me last summer and I checked out the website and filled out a volunteer application and have been volunteering in the barn and taking riding lessons with Jill ever since. After a few months of barn duties I was asked to be part of the staff and get more involved. I then started working on our website, fundraising, and helping at open houses or events in any way that I can.”

“Some personal information—I have my Bachelor’s degree in Business from Shippensburg University and my Master’s degree in Human Resources Management from St. Francis University. I’ve been in HR for 17 years and my regular FT job is as the HR Manager at Sechan Electronics in Lititz. My husband of 17 years, Rick, works at Johnson & Johnson in Lititz as a mixer operator. My kids are involved with ice hockey, scouts, softball, gymnastics, nature/birding, among other things. My life is very busy but I realize how important it is to have “me” time too so I’m committed to MHHR as the place where I spend that “me” time.”

“My long time goal is to have a horse of my own (finally!), to continue to support MHHR, become a better rider and maybe even compete in some shows again.”

Pudge: Wowie Vicki! You are very nice, kind and thoughtful about all the things you do. I think that any horse you own in the future will luv to have you for a Mom. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with us and being a part of our team. You are a treasured and valued part of our Mt Hope family!

Soon Mom walked into the barn and I thought I’d ask Mom what she thinks!

Pudge: Hi Mom! How about Vicki, what’da say!

My Mom, Pat Potter:

“In every way she has been one of the most helpful volunteers we have ever had. She never complains and is always willing to lend a hand. She really puts herself out. She’s so fantastic, we wish we could clone this women, really. She helps with the horses and is attentive to detail. She understands the need for riding lessons and as time goes by she’s come to understand the reason why we do what we do. Fortunately for us, she makes time for us and is very dependable. Right now she working with Jill and I to make changes on the website to include additions to the website that are important. She has good insight on Fundraising and Publicity. I cannot say enough about her.”

Mom and I are in complete agreement as well as the boys and Barn Kittah. We give Vicki the high hoof and high paw for being the best friend to us and for coming to us for your “me” time. That makes our hearts just swell with luv and pride!!

We value and appreciate all the nice things you do for us and the awareness of our rescue and what we do have been enhanced by your efforts too! We cannot thank you enough for all your hard work but if you come to the barn you can be sure to be blessed with all the Snooter kisses and huggies you can handle!!

Thank you and know we luv you!

All for now! Luv Pudge ♥

Leave a comment